VA – Balearic 3 (compiled by Jim Breese) Balearic

Jim Breese

The third annual instalment of ‘Balearic’ put together by Ibiza stalwart Jim Breese is set to land this June bringing with it a real sound of Ibiza sunsets.

A true Balearic selector, Jim Breese has the credentials to back this up. A former resident of the iconic Café Mambo in Ibiza, Breese has honed his skills in a setting that demands aural pleasure. With a profound love of sun-drenched laid back beats, Breese set up the Balearic label back in 2015 and its previous two volumes have contained music by the likes of Nils Frahm, Jonny Nash, Faze Action and Horsebeach.

Jim Breese
Jim Breese

“Hot afternoons on a shady terrace, long siestas, driving along dusty caminos in beat-up old cars, watching the boats in a rocky cove, the waft of pine trees on the wind, the endless drowsy hum of cicadas, white-washed fincas baking in the sun, lunches that stretch into twilight, the Old Town’s terracotta rooftops blazing in the sunset, hidden beaches and midnight ren- dezvous… that’s our Ibiza.” 

Set over a sumptuous twelve tracks, ‘Balearic 3’ delves deep into the wealth of contemporary chilled out music which Breese clearly has a magical ear for, picking out tracks like a new revision of  ‘Southern Freez’ by Zee Erf which achingly drifts along with melancholic vocals (once covered by Beverley Knight) and laid-back toms and bongo strikes. ‘Daydreams’ by Fuga Ronto is another fine selection, pulling you into the sound with its hypnotic percussive-led patterns, rushing wave effects and relaxed Spanish guitar strings. Our favourite is left for last though, Tommy Awards and ‘Untitled Track 1’ the Balearic remix. If you ever wanted to have your soul touched by a piece of music, this will do the job. A perfect sound for a perfect sunset, this sound is as close to heavenly as we can imagine, música perfecta.

‘Balearic 3’ will be released on 12th June, 2017 and you can pre-order here.

Track listing

1 Cantoma – Abando
2 The Madrigal – Ride To The Moon
3 Fuga Ronto – Daydreams
4 Shy Layers – Black and White
5 Quinn Lamont Luke – Primavera
6 Zee Erf – Southern Freeez (Mudd’s Mix For Emma)
7 Hubbabubbaklubb – Mopedbart (Olefonken’s Autostrada Miks)
8 Penelope Antena – Tradewinds (Cobby Mix) 9 Maajo – Musa Paradisa
10 Hear & Now – Hirundo
11 Nancy Noise – Kaia
12 Tommy Awards – Sessions II – Untitled Track 1 (Balearic Remix)



No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.